Board & governance

Board members

The Australian College of Mental Health Nurses Board comprises of highly-skilled, elected members with skills in mental health nursing, advocacy, health and higher education, governance, strategic planning and quality improvement.

Mike Hazelton


Mike Hazelton RN CMHN BA MA PhD FACMHN holds the positions of Conjoint Professor at the University of Newcastle and Adjunct Professor at Charles Sturt University. Mike retired as Professor Of Mental Health Nursing at the University Of Newcastle in February 2020, a position he held since 2001. Dr Hazelton has had extensive experience leading schools of nursing and midwifery at the University Of Newcastle, Curtin University, the University Of Tasmania.

Monica Taylor


Monica Taylor has been a mental health nurse for 30 years and was one of the first community-based MHNs in the Western Australian rural sector. Monica has expertise in emergency psychiatry and undertook state projects where she led the development of the WA framework for clinical supervision in public mental health services and was project lead for national forensic benchmarking. Monica has held leadership roles including clinical, project management, clinical redesign, nursing, and hospital administration.

John Hurley


John Hurley is Professor of Mental Health at Southern Cross University and works clinically at Headspace Coffs Harbour as a Credentialed Mental Health Nurse. He has accumulated over 35 years’ experience as a mental health practitioner through developing and leading psychiatric crisis and home treatment services in both Australia and the United Kingdom.

Donna Hansen Vella


Donna Vella is a passionate mental health nurse focused on improving people’s access to adequately funded mental health nursing services. She commenced her career as a direct entry psychiatric nurse in 1991 and has subsequently worked in a range of clinical and leadership roles across public and private mental health services within Victoria. Her clinical work spans perinatal psychiatry, child and youth mental health, and more recently adult acute mental health services.

Vicki Green


Vicki Green received her certificate in psychiatric nursing in 1993 and masters of healthcare leadership in  2018. She is devoted to patient and family-centered care that is trauma informed and enables this work through leadership roles across a range clinical areas.

Vicki is the Director of Nursing, DDHHS and most recently the Chair for the South Queensland Branch of the College.

James Houghton


James Houghton completed all his nursing training in New Zealand and was originally a member of what was then the Australia New Zealand College Of Mental Health Nurses (ANZCMHN). In 2005, he moved to Melbourne and started working for North Western Mental Health (NWMH) auspiced under Melbourne Health at Orygen Youth Health in Footscray. After a brief spell working for Monash Health, James Came back to NWMH as Clinical Nurse Educator on John Cade L1 at the Royal Melbourne Hospital In 2011.

Stephen Carroll


As both an RN and CMHN Stephen has spent the last 40 years in private practice. He is committed to the role of mental health nurses in private practice and to achieving recognition and parity with our mental health colleagues. He lives and practices in regional NSW.

Governance resources


The constitution sets out the ACMHN's purpose for which the College has been established, details its powers, and outlines its organisational structure. 

Governance charter

The Governance charter ensures the strategic guidance of the ACMHN, defining the respective roles, responsibilities and authorities of the Board and the Chief Executive Officer. It guides the effective monitoring of management by the board, and the board’s accountability to members. 


By-laws enable the governing body of the organisation, the Board of Directors (or committees or delegations established by the Board) to determine how the ACMHN will operate for its proper advancement, management, and administration.